News

Circuit de l’Abbaye

A letter from the Mayor of the Township of Potton, Jacques Marcoux

Recently, you may have noticed these blue roadside signs bearing a logo of the Abbaye Saint-Benoît-du-Lac.
These posters mark a new long-term walking circuit, the Circuit de l’Abbaye. Inaugurated in 2018, this circuit passes through eight municipalities in the west of the MRC Memphremagog: Austin, Magog, Orford, Eastman, Stukely-Sud, Saint-Etienne-de-Bolton, Bolton-Est, and Potton.

Installing these posters along a 155-kilometer route is a challenge. Most of them are mounted on trees along the road, but some posters may be on your property. If this is the case, and if it does not bother you too much, the administrators of the Circuit de l’Abbaye would be grateful to you for allowing these indication signs to remain on your property.

If you have any questions or comments, you can call 819 943-6858 or write to info@circuitdelabbaye.com

Secondly, I would like to highlight how fortunate we are, as nearly half of the Circuit de l’Abbaye passes through Potton. The arrival of summer will bring hundreds of walkers in our Township, this will inevitably have a positive impact on our local economy. You will recognize walkers by the badge they wear and the backpacks they carry. I am convinced that you will provide our visitors with a warm welcome and encourage them on this journey lasting ten days.

It is important to remember that the Circuit de l’Abbaye provides a unique opportunity to attract visitors to Township of Potton. A smile or a small gesture of kindness can make a big difference to these pilgrim-walkers.

–  Jacques Marcoux, Mayor of Potton Township

logo potton

To receive the Potton in brief, subscribe to our newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from the municipality.

Your registration is successful!

Nouvelles

Circuit de l’Abbaye

Lettre du maire du canton de Potton, Jacques Marcoux

Dernièrement, vous avez sans doute remarqué des affichettes bleues en bordure de la route, arborant un logo de l’Abbaye Saint-Benoît-du-Lac.
Ces affichettes balisent un nouveau circuit de marche longue durée, le Circuit de l’Abbaye. Inauguré en 2018, ce circuit passe par huit municipalités de l’ouest de la MRC Memphrémagog : Austin, Magog, Orford, Eastman, Stukely-Sud, Saint-Étienne-de-Bolton, Bolton-Est et Potton.

Poser ces affiches tout au long d’un parcours de 155 kilomètres représente un défi. La plupart d’entre elles sont posées sur des arbres en bordure de la route mais il est possible que certaines affiches se retrouvent sur votre propriété. Si tel est le cas et si cela ne vous incommode pas trop, les responsables du Circuit de l’Abbaye vous seraient reconnaissants de garder l’affiche sur place.

Pour toute question ou tout commentaire, vous pouvez joindre les responsables du circuit au 819 943-6858 ou au info@circuitdelabbaye.com

Dans un deuxième temps, j’aimerais attirer votre attention sur le fait que près de la moitié du Circuit de l’Abbaye passe par Potton. L’arrivée de l’été va ainsi coïncider avec la présence de centaines de marcheurs dans notre canton. Vous les reconnaîtrez par le macaron qu’ils portent et leur équipement de marcheurs longue durée. Je suis convaincu que vous saurez leur réserver un accueil chaleureux et les encourager dans ce périple d’une dizaine de jours.

Il est important de se rappeler que le Circuit de l’Abbaye contribue grandement à l’économie et au rayonnement du canton de Potton, et qu’un sourire ou un petit geste de reconnaissance amicale de la main peut faire une grande différence pour ces pèlerins-marcheurs.

– Jacques Marcoux, maire du canton de Potton

logo potton

Pour recevoir le Potton en bref, inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre

Rejoignez notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir les dernières nouvelles et mises à jour de la municipalité.

Votre inscription est réussie!