FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have a question in mind regarding our services? Before calling the Municipality, the answer may be found here! Read the questions most often asked by citizens of the Municipality of the Township of Potton, followed by our answers. If your question is not in this list, contact our Citizen Services at 450 292-3313, extension 0 or info@potton.ca.

 

Q: Can I pay my municipal taxes online?

A: Yes, you can pay your municipal taxes online. If this is the first time that you are attempting to pay online, please log in and then go to the bill payment section. Create a new payee like you would have done for Hydro, Koodo, or Bell for example. Do a search for Canton Potton and you should find POTTON (CANTON DE) TAX. The reference number will be the file number that you see on the top right side of your Municipal tax invoice made up of 16 digits. Use only numbers, no letters, no spaces. Most banks will take 16 digits. Scotia Bank only takes 10 digits. Once you have created the new payee, then you can proceed to pay the bill like you would any other bill payment.

Q: What is my municipal assessment?

A: You can consult the municipal assessment of any property on the territory of the Municipality of the Township of Potton directly on the website of the Municipality’s assessor, the firm J.P.Cadrin & Ass. Inc. by clicking here and providing the required data.
* You will be directed to a site other than that of Potton; Please note that the property assessment and the destination portal are neither a municipal responsibility of the Township of Potton.

The firm Jean-Pierre Cadrin and associates, mandated by the MRC of Memphrémagog to develop the municipal assessment rolls, is submitting the new roll for the Canton of Potton.
To this end, citizens of the Municipality are invited to watch a short video explaining that the process is governed by provincial standards. This video is available in French with the possibility of English subtitles: https://aemq.qc.ca/quest-ce-que-levaluation-municipale/

Q: My garbage bin wasn’t picked up this week. Can they come by?

A: The collection of residual materials is a service provided by an external supplier, and the Municipality therefore has no control over the collection routes. However, please contact Citizen services at 450 292-3313, ext. or info@potton.ca so that a note can be placed on file. You can also drop off a bin of residual materials at the Potton ecocenter every Sunday from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. *except December 29, 2024 and January 5, 2025. (chemin du Traitement-des-Eaux, accessible via Bellevue – bring proof of residence).

Q: My recycling bin is broken. Can I have another one?

A: If your bin’s wheels or lid are damaged, you can fill out a form to have them replaced. This form is available at the Town Hall reception desk during our opening hours (Monday to Thursday, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., then 1:15 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.).

Q: My road is in bad condition. Can someone come and repair it?

A: This obviously depends on the severity of the road condition and the level of prioritization of the work to be carried out. It’s important to remember that during thaw periods, roads are often damaged (tire tracks in softer ground cause traffic problems, among other things). During thaw periods, the road crew works on priority roads (Peabody, Ruiter Brook, West Hill, Leadville), then continues on to other secondary roads. For any emergency, it’s important to dial 9-1-1 so that the emergency service can contact the right people to come to your aid (firefighters or others).

Q: I want to buy a property in Potton. What are the current regulations (regarding construction, short-term rentals, etc.)?

A: There are frequently asked questions on the urban planning department’s page (https://potton.ca/urbanisme/faq-permis/). Otherwise, permit applications can be found here: https://potton.ca/en/urbanism/permit-application/. Finally, the Urban Planning bylaws can be found here: https://potton.ca/en/urbanism/urban-planning-bylaws/. If you can’t find the answer to your question, please send an e-mail to Carole Garneau, garneau.c@potton.ca.

Q: I’m moving. Who can I contact to receive my tax bill at the right address?

A: You can write to Citizen Services: info@potton.ca or call 450 292-3313, ext. 0, during normal business hours.

 

Civil security

Q: What is the number to dial in case of emergency in Potton?

A: Potton has full 911 service. In case of emergency, dial 911 and be ready to provide a phone number as well as the address or location where you are and explain the type of emergency you are facing. Depending on your needs, the operator will route your call to the appropriate dispatch center, whether it’s for medical calls, fire emergencies, or police matters.

Q: Can I request first responders from 911 during a medical emergency?

A: The dispatch assignments for medical emergencies are determined by the details you provide to them. Therefore, be specific in your descriptions and do not minimize or exaggerate your situation. It is the level and type of urgency that will determine whether first responders are dispatched by the ambulance dispatch center. It is not possible for the dispatch center to send only first responders; if they respond to your aid, an ambulance is also automatically dispatched.

Q: When do I need a fire prevention visit?

A: According to our fire protection standards, periodic visits are mandatory, and you will be contacted for these. If you make significant changes to your home, such as adding a propane or wood heating system, undertaking major renovations, or purchasing a new property, you can contact us for any questions or to update your file.

Q: What are fire prevention visits for?

A: If the fire department contacts you for a visit, don’t worry; it’s just a routine visit. These visits are meant to ensure that your facilities are safe and that your detection systems are functioning properly. We will also gather any other information that may help us serve you better or protect you in the event of an incident. We will discuss evacuation plans and actions to take in case of emergency. We will also be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Q: What should I do with my old fire extinguishers?

A: The Municipality of Potton will accept your expired fire extinguishers at the ecocenter. They will be collected by an independent service that can safely recycle them. Visit this page for more information on the ecocenter: potton.ca/en/residual-material

 

Parks and green spaces

Q : Are dogs allowed in parks and green spaces?

A: Yes, on a leash, except in the splash pad. Make sure your dog is on a leash no longer than 1.85 m (6 ft.) and that no excrement is left on the ground. Several excrement bag boxes are available around the parks.

Q : Are pets allowed in the water games?

A: No, they are not. Animals are not allowed because our system uses recycled, treated water and we want to avoid the spread of bacteria.

Q: How late are the park lights open?

A: Under the multifunctional shelter, the lights are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. every day. Elsewhere in the park (tennis, dek field hockey, etc.), it’s 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. For the baseball field, users are invited to open and close the lights themselves as required. A sign has been put up with instructions.

Q: Why are sticks and pucks not allowed in the locker rooms of the service building at Missisquoi North Park?

A: To prevent damage to the walls and the new building.

Q: Why are pucks and tape on field hockey stick paddles forbidden on the dek field hockey surface?

A: To avoid damaging the playing surface, the boards and the mesh, which are not designed for this purpose. Only plastic dek field hockey balls are allowed.

 

Leisure and activities

Q: I’d like to reserve a municipal sports area for a group activity. What’s the procedure?

A: Please refer to our Policy for the management of municipal platforms and download the rental contract if required: https://potton.ca/en/living/gestion-des-plateaux-municipaux/

Q: What recreational activities are offered at Missisquoi North Park?

A: The municipal park has undergone major developments since 2019. In winter, the multifunctional shelter houses a large refrigerated skating rink. In summer, the shelter hosts pickleball, basketball and group training. The park also includes a service building, bocce ball (petanque) games, a large children’s play module, a pumptrack, a floor field hockey area, a splash pad, a soccer field, tennis courts, a baseball field and walking trails along the river.

 

Vale Perkins Wharf

Q: I want to go fishing at the end of the Vale Perkins wharf, can I?

A: Yes, it’s possible, nothing prohibits it, but the comings and goings of the many boats can interfere with your fishing.

Q: I have a scooter as a vehicle and I want to go fishing, is that possible?

A: Yes, but you will have to park it elsewhere than on the wharf.

Q: I am a citizen and I want to go fishing with my friend Roger from Granby, will he have to pay for parking anyway?

A: No, parking will be free as well as the boat launch since you are accompanying your friend Roger.

Q: I am a resident of Potton and I don’t have my citizen card from the municipality, can I still have free access to the lake anyway?

A: Yes, but only once. The wharf staff will invite you to go to the municipal library to get your card and thus have no problem accessing the wharf next time.

 

 

logo potton

To receive the Potton in brief, subscribe to our newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from the municipality.

Your registration is successful!

FAQ

Foire aux questions

Avez-vous une question en tête par rapport à nos services ? Avant de lâcher un coup de fil à la Municipalité, la réponse se retrouve peut-être ici ! Consultez les questions les plus souvent posées par les citoyens de la Municipalité du Canton de Potton, suivis de nos réponses. Si votre question ne se retrouve pas dans cette liste, rejoignez notre Service citoyens au 450 292-3313, poste 0 ou info@potton.ca.

 

Q : Puis-je payer mes taxes municipales en ligne?

R : Oui, vous pouvez payer vos taxes municipales en ligne. Si c’est la première fois que vous tentez de payer en ligne, veuillez vous connecter à votre compte bancaire en ligne puis rendez-vous dans la section paiement de factures. Créez un nouveau bénéficiaire comme vous l’auriez fait pour Hydro-Québec, Koodo ou Bell par exemple. Effectuez une recherche avec les mots Canton Potton et vous devriez trouver POTTON (CANTON DE) TAX. Le numéro de référence demandé est le numéro de Matricule que vous voyez en haut à droite de votre facture de taxes municipales composé de 16 chiffres. N’utilisez que des chiffres, pas de lettres, pas d’espaces. La plupart des banques acceptent 16 chiffres. La Banque Scotia ne prend que 10 chiffres. Une fois que le nouveau bénéficiaire est créé, vous pouvez procéder au paiement de la facture comme vous le feriez pour tout autre paiement de facture.

Q : Quelle est mon évaluation municipale?

R : Vous pouvez consulter l’évaluation municipale de toute propriété sur le territoire de la Municipalité du Canton de Potton directement sur le site de l’évaluateur de la Municipalité, la firme J.P.Cadrin & Ass. Inc. en cliquant ici et en fournissant les données requises.
* Vous allez être dirigé vers un autre site que celui de Potton ; veuillez noter que l’évaluation foncière ainsi que le portail de destination ne sont ni l’un ni l’autre une responsabilité municipale du Canton de Potton.

La firme Jean-Pierre Cadrin et associés, mandatée par la MRC du Memphrémagog pour élaborer les rôles d’évaluation municipale, dépose cet automne le nouveau rôle pour le Canton de Potton.
À cet effet, il est proposé aux citoyens de la Municipalité de visionner une courte vidéo expliquant que le processus est encadré par des normes provinciales. Cette vidéo est disponible en français avec possibilité de sous-titres anglais : https://aemq.qc.ca/quest-ce-que-levaluation-municipale/

Q : Mon bac de matières résiduelles n’a pas été ramassé cette semaine. Est-ce qu’ils peuvent passer?

R : La collecte des matières résiduelles est un service offert à un fournisseur externe et la Municipalité ne contrôle donc pas les circuits de collectes. Toutefois, veuillez en faire part au Service aux citoyens 450 292-3313, poste ou info@potton.ca pour qu’une note soit mise au dossier. Vous avez également la possibilité de déposer un bac de matières résiduelles à l’écocentre de Potton tous les dimanches de 13h à 17h *sauf 29 décembre 2024 et 5 janvier 2025. (Écocentre au chemin du Traitement-des-Eaux, accessible par le chemin Bellevue). Informations sur l’écocentre ici : potton.ca/matieres-residuelles

Q : Mon bac de matières résiduelles est brisé. Est-ce que je peux en avoir un autre?

R : Si ce sont les roues ou le couvercle qui sont endommagés sur votre bac, vous pouvez remplir un formulaire pour les faire remplacer. Celui-ci est disponible à la réception de l’hôtel de ville pendant nos heures d’ouverture (lundi au jeudi de 8h30 à 12h30, puis de 13h15 à 16h30 ; vendredi 8h30 à 12h30).

Q : Mon chemin est en mauvais état. Est-ce que quelqu’un peut venir faire des réparations?

R : Cela dépend évidemment de la gravité de l’état de la route et du niveau de priorisation des travaux à effectuer. Il faut savoir que lors des périodes de dégel, les chemins sont souvent endommagés (les traces de pneus dans un sol plus mou causes des difficultés à circuler, entre autres). Si nous sommes en période de dégel, l’équipe de voirie travaille par chemins prioritaires (Peabody, Ruiter Brook, West Hill, Leadville), pour ensuite poursuivre vers d’autres chemins secondaires. Pour toute urgence, il est important de composer le 9-1-1 pour que le service d’urgence puisse communiquer avec les bonnes personnes pour vous venir en aide (pompiers ou autres).

Q : Je désire acheter une propriété à Potton. Quels sont les règlements en cours (par rapport à la construction, à la location court terme, ou autres)?

R : Il y a une foire à questions sur la page du département d’urbanisme (https://potton.ca/urbanisme/faq-permis/). Sinon, les demandes de permis se retrouvent ici : https://potton.ca/urbanisme/demande-de-permis/. Finalement, les Règlements d’urbanisme sont ici : https://potton.ca/urbanisme/reglements-urbanisme/. Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question, prière d’envoyer un courriel à Mme Carole Garneau, garneau.c@potton.ca.

Q : Je déménage. À qui puis-je faire mon changement d’adresse pour recevoir mon compte de taxes à la bonne adresse?

R : Vous pouvez écrire au Service citoyens : info@potton.ca ou appeler au 450 292-3313, poste 0, pendant les heures d’ouverture.

 

Sécurité civile et incendie

Q : Quel est le numéro à composer en cas d’urgence à Potton? 

R : Potton possède le service complet du 911. En cas d’urgence, composez le 911 et soyez prêts à fournir un numéro de téléphone ainsi que l’adresse ou l’endroit où vous vous trouvez et expliquez le type d’urgence à laquelle vous faites face. Selon vos besoins, la centrale basculera votre appel vers la centrale appropriée, soit la centrale pour les appels médicaux, celle des pompiers ou celle des policiers.  

Q : Est-ce que je peux demander au 911 d’envoyer les premiers répondants lors d’une urgence médicale? 

R : Les affectations médicales de la centrale d’ambulance sont déterminées par les détails que vous leur fournissez. Soyez donc précis dans vos descriptions et ne minimisez ou n’exagérez pas votre situation. C’est le niveau d’urgence et le type d’urgence qui détermineront si les premiers répondants sont affectés ou non par la centrale d’ambulance. Il est impossible pour la centrale de ne vous envoyer que les premiers répondants; si ceux-ci viennent à votre secours, une ambulance est aussi envoyée automatiquement. 

Q : Quand ai-je besoin d’une visite de prévention des pompiers? 

R : Selon nos normes de protection des incendies, des visites périodiques sont obligatoires et vous serez contactés pour celles-ci. Si vous faites de grands changements à votre maison, par exemple vous avez ajouté un système de chauffage au propane ou au bois, vous avez fait de grandes rénovations ou venez d’acheter une nouvelle propriété, vous pouvez nous contacter pour toutes questions ou pour compléter votre dossier.

Q : À quoi servent les visites de prévention des pompiers? 

R : Si le service incendie vous contacte pour une visite, ne vous inquiétez pas; il ne s’agit que d’une visite de routine. Ces visites servent à s’assurer que vos installations sont sécuritaires et que vos systèmes de détection sont au point. Nous récolterons aussi toute autre information pouvant nous aider à mieux vous servir ou vous protéger en cas d’incident. Nous discuterons de plans d’évacuation et d’actions à prendre en cas d’urgence. Aussi, nous répondrons à toutes vos questions avec plaisir.

Q : Que dois-je faire avec mes vieux extincteurs? 

R : La Municipalité de Potton prendra en charge vos extincteurs périmés à l’écocentre. Ils seront ramassés par un service indépendant pouvant s’en recycler en toute sécurité. Information et heures de l’écocentre : potton.ca/matieres-residuelles

 

Parcs et espaces verts

Q : Les chiens sont-ils permis dans les parcs et espaces verts ? 

R : Oui, en laisse, sauf dans les jeux d’eau ! Assurez-vous d’avoir les chiens en laisse d’une longueur maximale de 1.85 m (6 pieds) et de ne laisser aucun excrément par terre. Plusieurs boîtes de sacs d’excréments sont disponibles autour des parcs.

Q : Les animaux peuvent-ils aller dans les jeux d’eau ? 

R : Non. Les animaux sont interdits puisque notre système fonctionne en eau recyclée et traitée et nous souhaitons éviter la propagation de bactéries.

Q : Pourquoi les bâtons et les rondelles sont-ils interdits dans les vestiaires du bâtiment de service au parc de la Missisquoi-Nord ? 

R : Pour ne pas endommager les murs et éviter tout dommage au bâtiment neuf.

Q : Pourquoi les rondelles et le ruban sur les palettes de bâton de hockey sont-ils interdits sur la surface de dek hockey ?  

R : Pour ne pas endommager la surface de jeu, les bandes et le grillage qui ne sont pas conçus pour ça. Seules les boules en plastique de dek hockey sont acceptées.

 

Loisirs et activités

Q : J’aimerais réserver un plateau sportif pour une activité de groupe. Quelle est la procédure ? 

R : Veuillez vous référer à notre Politique de gestion des plateaux municipaux et télécharger le contrat de location au besoin : https://potton.ca/milieu-de-vie/politique-de-gestion-des-plateaux-municipaux/

Q : Quelles-sont les activités de loisirs offertes au parc de la Missisquoi-Nord ?

R : Le parc municipal a connu des développements importants depuis 2019. L’hiver, l’abri multifonctionnel accueille une grande patinoire réfrigérée. L’été, l’abri accueille du pickleball, du basketball, des entraînements en groupe. Le parc inclut aussi un bâtiment de services, des jeux de pétanque, un grand module de jeux d’enfants, une pumptrack, une aire de dek hockey, des jeux d’eau, des terrains de soccer, de tennis, un terrain de baseball, ainsi que des sentiers pédestres longeant la rivière.

 

Quai de Vale Perkins

Q : Je veux aller pêcher au bout du quai Vale Perkins, est-ce que je peux?

R : Oui, c’est possible, rien ne l’interdit, mais les allées et venues des nombreux bateaux peuvent nuire à votre pêche.

Q : J’ai un scooter comme véhicule et je veux aller pêcher, c’est possible?

R : Oui, mais vous devrez stationner celui-ci ailleurs que sur le quai.

Q : Je suis citoyen et je désire aller pêcher avec mon ami Roger de Granby, devra-t-il payer le stationnement quand même?

R : Non, le stationnement sera gratuit ainsi que la mise à l’eau puisque vous accompagnez votre ami Roger.

Q : Je suis résident de Potton et je n’ai pas ma carte de citoyen de la municipalité, est-ce que je peux avoir accès au lac gratuitement quand même?

R : Oui, une seule fois.  Le personnel du quai vous invitera à passer à la bibliothèque municipale afin de vous procurer votre carte et ainsi avoir accès sans problème au quai la prochaine fois.

 

logo potton

Pour recevoir le Potton en bref, inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre

Rejoignez notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir les dernières nouvelles et mises à jour de la municipalité.

Votre inscription est réussie!